On Painting…

April 10, 2016

I have been painting for many years now. I have learned so much, and realized that the learning part of art never ends. There is something new every day. And I love discovering new ways to paint and create. I also learned that you may hear the same lessons over and over, but your brain will not register that information until you are in that stage of painting. You know, that “aha” moment when you finally get it!

Another thing I learned is that you do have to paint daily, even if it is only for an hour. Practice, practice, practice. Every painting is not going to be a masterpiece! Sometimes I paint the same subject more than one time until it is the way I envisioned it. But sometimes a painting takes on a life of its own, and that can be a good thing too.

I have found out too by attending numerous workshops that some wonderful and successful artists make great teachers, and that some do not. So be picky about the workshops you attend. Read reviews and listen to what other artists are saying. I, for one, do not want to pay good money to watch another artist paint. Yes, I love a demo, but I want to paint too and experiment and learn. I don’t expect to go home with a finished piece. I just want to try something new that I am learning in that workshop. And I want an instructor who is willing to share all they know and one who will work with me to help me become the best that I can be.

The biggest thing on painting that I, or anyone else, can tell you is to just do it! Paint and practice, experiment, make mistakes, and have fun!

I paint for me, and paint what inspires me, not what I think other people want to see. A part of me goes into every painting I create.  It is hard sometimes sharing your art because it is such a personal thing. You are putting yourself out there. But I get such a high when I share with others, especially when they are touched in some way or make a connection with my work.

Leave a Reply

