On being an artist… (Cont’d)

March 30, 2016

All throughout my school years I excelled in my art classes. I was given the Art Award my Senior year of high school. I really, really wanted to continue to study art in college, but my parents somehow persuaded me to study something else. I majored in fashion and interior design. So I did have some design classes and I continued to sketch every chance I got.  But once I graduated college and went to work, my art got pushed aside.

I worked, married, and raised my two children. Because my husband travelled a lot, after I would put my children to bed, I would grab my sketchbook and pencils and stay up til all hours of the night sketching.

When my youngest child was about 12 years old, I signed up for some watercolor classes through a local art group. And that was the real start of my career as an artist.

 

Leave a Reply

