On being an artist …

March 28, 2016

image

Since about the age of 5 or 6 years I knew I wanted to create art. Recalling the Christmases I received oil paint by numbers and having regular art sessions in grade school I remember just loving it. I loved the smell of the paints and having creative freedom was wonderful! Also learning how to make something appear two or three dimensional was a challenge I wanted to conquer.

I recall one Easter break for an art assignment I was to paint something seasonal. I was about 8 years old at the time. I decided to do a painting of my mother’s Easter lilies. There was a petal on one of the flowers that was straight on coming forward. I just couldn’t figure out how to make it look the way I thought it should be with paint. So I decided to cut out a paper petal, make it curl forward, then attached it to the painting. That was my first 3-D piece of art!

Picking flowers, painting and drawing flowers is one of my favorite things to do! I loved bringing flowers to my mom because I knew she loved them too. When it comes to painting flowers I think I am pretty good at it. Not so challenging as some other subjects…

…to be continued.

Leave a Reply

